The Last Ship

The Last Ship – TNT

The new summer TV shows have started so I thought I would begin writing some short reviews.  Note: The premise is SPOILED for some shows that aired recently.  If you want to see these shows and don’t want to know the premise than be wary.

The Last Ship

Pro’s:

  • This is SciFy action adventure done with high energy and decent special effects.  This is what I want for a summer show!

  • Casey from Chuck playing a military guy, not a stretch for him but it’s credible.  Also Rhona Mitra who I just found out was the original model/actress for Lara Croft.  I knew there was something I liked about her.

  • The show is on the TNT channel and on-line.  The first episode is free.  I had never been to the TNT web site before so I need to see if all the episodes will be free in the future.

  • The first 30 minutes of the show are action packed,  I just wished the second part of the show was too.

Con’s

  • The second part of the first episode was full of clichés and rousing speeches (mostly be the Captain, who is actually a Commander in the Navy).  This is okay but if you just lost your family and had nowhere to go home, you might have wanted to slap someone rather than salute them.

  • The virus story is interesting to a degree but most of the action of the infected people happens off-screen.  I guess this is good if you are squeamish.

  • This isn’t really a complaint but didn’t external shot of the ghost ship look a lot like the Titanic (even though it was supposed to be a modern ship)?

  • I guess I will watch a little more of the show, but I am worried that most of the characters are just cookie cutter stand ins for now.  I also noticed that the bad guys can’t seem to hit their target while the good guys seem to manage to destroy them practically every time.

 

One Response

  1. I find it extremely hilarious that the show is manly made up of Navy Officers who are running the ship. Where are the Chiefs? Anyone who is remotely educated with how the Navy runs knows that it is the Chiefs who run the ship. Where is the Top Snipe, CMC, FCCM, and so on?

Leave a Reply

