Halle Barry in Extant

Extant – CBS

The new summer TV shows have started so I thought I would begin writing some short reviews.  Note: The premise is SPOILED for some shows that aired recently.  If you want to see these shows and don’t want to know the premise than be wary.

Extant

Pro’s:

  • Halle Berry is very good here playing both an estranged astronaut, wife and mother to be.

  • As is the case with most CBS dramas, the show is very well made.  Everything looks great and is in its place so to speak.  If you like CBS style shows (I like Elementary) you might find yourself right at home here.

  • My favorite part of the science fiction is about how she has to deal with her desire for motherhood versus the difficulties in dealing with something beyond her training and understanding.

  • I also liked when the corporate board challenged her scientist husband on the safety of creating a being with unlimited learning potential and uncontrolled capabilities.

Con’s

  • It seems to pick up some plot elements from Spielberg’s movie AI (Artificial Intelligence) which I could never really love.  I just kept thinking Pinocchio for most that movie (if you know what I mean).

  • Also there is the evil corporation plot line which we have seen since at least Alien.  Can they make this a bit different (I hope so)?

  • Ms. Berry’s character lives in a sterile world which is a bit off-putting to me.  Hopefully she will get to shake things up and add some interesting soulfulness to the mix.

Leave a Reply

