The Strain

The Strain – FX

The new summer TV shows have started so I thought I would begin writing some short reviews.  Note: The premise is SPOILED for some shows that aired recently.  If you want to see these shows and don’t want to know the premise than be wary.

The Strain

Pro’s:

  • The plot is easy to follow and is straightforward in its presentation.  The cinematography is pretty good too, with a lot of warm colors (even though the show takes place at night, so far).

  • Guillermo Del Toro wrote and directed the first episode.  He is famous for Hellboy and Pans Labyrinth.  He is a master at creating interesting monsters.

  • Corey Stoll (House of Cards) is the lead and is usually interesting to watch but sometimes difficult to like;  and his co-star is Mia Maestro, who I have never seen before but I like in this show.   Wikipedia says she was on Alias from 2004-06.

  • I think young horror fans (teens) might like this show.

Con’s

  • It seems to follow the plot line of Dracula where the Count arrives in England (in this case NY) to set up shop, but this time he is being used by a spooky corporation for an evil plot that involves the whole city.

  • I was never all that scared.  There was a lot of shock value in some of the scenes but the suspense did not draw me in enough to frighten me.  I may have seen too many scary movies to be shocked by what they are doing so far.  Also the show has a tiny bit of humor, but not enough.

  • I guess I will watch a couple more episodes, but I have doubts that this is going to be very interesting to me.  In a way I would sum this up as Dracula meets Fringe but isn’t quite up to either (at least after one episode).  Of course Fringe took a while before I really liked it.

Leave a Reply

